The Journey of 1000 Miles…

…begins with a single step.

Working on the goal of walking one thousand miles this year (thanks to Caroline C for the challenge) in the past two months, this pedometer geek has definitely gotten out of the slump seen in the number of steps of the last few months of 2016.

In January, the total number of steps taken by the pedometer geek was 266,612 steps of which 150,747 were aerobic steps. (Aerobic steps are based on ten minutes or more of continuous walking.) As embarrassing as it is to admit, there were nearly as many aerobic steps as what this slacker totally put on the pedometer in December. All told, 83 miles of the goal were accomplished through the end of January.

While January’s numbers were a vast improvement over December’s numbers, February was an even better month. This pedometer geek managed to log 297,290 steps during February. Aerobic steps, which were mostly obtained on the treadmill, totaled 185,265. Except for one day of 9,614 steps, the daily goal of 10,000 steps (or more) was also obtained, but, obviously overall, the average day’s total was 10,617 steps. In the mileage department another  93.71 miles were accumulated bringing the yearly total to 176.71 miles. As an aside, this pedometer geek has an Omron pedometer, Model HJ-720ITFFP, which records steps, aerobic steps, miles, and calories.

The advantage to all this time on the treadmill is that this pedometer geek has also had the opportunity to read quite a few books since the beginning of the year. Just in February alone, sixteen books were read (or completed). To this, as in years past, working on bookcrossing.com challenges of the pages-read challenge and SIY (set-it-yourself) finds this reader ahead of the goals, but more important, it is fun to combine the two resolutions of walking and reading.

Now to continue the inroads made in the first two months as the year moves forward. Although the books were not listed here, a few of them have been reviewed on http://www.pedometergeek.wordpress.com. If interested, I can always list some of the books read in the past two months in the comments.

 

 

About pedometergeek

A pharmacist by profession, a haiku poet by nature, I read and write. I have a book of haiku, Ohayo Haiku, and another somewhat alternative haiku book, Three Breaths, but write other genres. I also read...lots of novels! My favorite is, and remains, Ayn Rand's Atlas Shrugged but I am also a big Harry Potter fan. I truly am a pedometer geek strapping on my pedometer as soon as I awaken.
This entry was posted in blog, pedometer geek, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Journey of 1000 Miles…

  1. That’s some high-steppin’, nan. Way to go. Lot of reading, too, very impressive.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. julespaige says:

    I’ve been recording miles. Jan and Feb were on the low side of an average of only 3 per day.
    I started this month off with 5m on the 1st, and 2nd., but then it got cold again. I squeaked in 4.5 on the 3 rd, but yesterday barley made more than 3. No goal for today since it’s still freezing out there! I am so looking forward to ‘normalized’ temps.

    Our neighbor just lost or had to give up his car. Myself and my other neighbor have taken it upon ourselves to be look out for him since he has no children or family close by. He’s a WWII vet. If FIL lived they’d be about the same age. So it’s just the right thing to do…

    Odd how those letters in the mail/ time in a bottle things get lost and found. It only saw three people since the one gal got it in one state and then moved to another…before finding it.

    Oh, my pedometer says that 10,000 steps is only about 4.25 miles for me. The other one I had (which I never was able to pace set, not that I’ve done that with this one either) I had to walk at least or over 5 miles to get to 10,000 steps.

    Keep plugging away on your goals. Oh, I’ve been attempting to read more too…but I’ve realized that if I don’t like a book I can close it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey JP. .my pedometer records about 3.25 miles for 10,000 steps, but then it may be how I have my stride measured at. I just keeping plugging away, just like you.

      I’d love to know where all the message in a letter traveled to before returning to you. I think I got it twice…the first time when you sent it to me, and the second time I sent it on further and hoped you’d get it back. Obviously, and finally, you did.

      You are smarter than me. I tend to keep plugging away at the books I am reading even if I don’t care for it. I should follow your wise example, and shut the book.

      Take care, my friend.

      Liked by 1 person

      • julespaige says:

        The pedometers do have a way to set the pace. I think though that it also changes if you go fast or slow? I’m not to worried though. This week is going to be slim pickin’s as they say. Cold for the next few days with 6-8 inches of funny whites stuff for Monday. You may get that tomorrow. So be careful!

        That was the only card I got back. I don’t recall how many I sent out. And it didn’t go that far before getting lost in a desk and being moved a few states south. 🙂

        I’m trying to plug through this one book that was a gift…but I think I’ve about had it since I don’t like one of the characters.

        Cheers 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

