Haiku Happenings: Failed Haiku, Issue 99

While away visiting my son and his family for a few days, the senryu-based journal, Failed Haiku #99 was published. This pedometer geek poet knew that the editor, Bryan Rickert, had chosen a few of this poet’s senryu for inclusion, but figured the issue would be published on the first of May so it was a pleasant surprise (as I began to wade through all the emails that had accumulated in my inbox over the past week) to discover it was already out by the time I arrived home.

This pedometer geek had the following senryu for inclusion in this issue, and they are as follows:

yard sign
local honey for sale
–red light district

leap year
making February
even longer
Nancy Brady, 2024

Thanks, Bryan, for accepting these senryu for inclusion; I appreciate it.

As April’s Million Mile Month concluded, this pedometer geek barely eked out the hundred miles I challenged myself. The global community only managed 422,076 miles, but Healthcode.org has another Million Mile Month in May, and this pedometer geek will be participating. Consider joining all the other participants and me.

About pedometergeek

A pharmacist by profession, a haiku poet by nature, I read and write. I have my debut book of haiku, Ohayo Haiku, and another somewhat alternative haiku book, Three Breaths, but write other genres. I have an illustrated children's book, The Adventures of Aloysius. I also read...lots of novels! My favorite is, and remains, Ayn Rand's Atlas Shrugged but I am also a big Harry Potter fan. I truly am a pedometer geek strapping on my pedometer as soon as I awaken.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Haiku Happenings: Failed Haiku, Issue 99

  1. vhosking says:

    Great haiku, Nan.

    Like

  2. cindy knoke says:

    Beautifully simple.

    Like

  3. Jules says:

    Fun… I used to use more honey. I had a neighbor that moved – I used to buy her honey. Now a relative of someone at the bowling alley sells it. There may be a difference in grading. But – it’s all sweet to me. If I run out I try and just get local or store brand.

    Fun for those born on Feb 29 th… maybe? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • We have a local farmer’s market where we get the honey we need as we don’t use that much throughout the year. We aren’t real particular about the grading either, just as it does what it is supposed to (sweeten).

      Huron actually used to have at least one brothel (maybe more) so with this context in mind, this sign in our city just strikes me as humorous. Yesterday, I noticed that the same yard is now posting a sign for fresh eggs, too. In my warped mind, the combining of the local honey and fresh eggs for sale, maybe they are now running an IVF clinic.

      I rather feel sorry for those people who are born on the 29th of February. They get shortchanged in the annual celebration. Recently, I met a family who has two members who share the 29th of February. One is a grandmother who just had her 20th birthday, and the other is a great- grandchild who had his 4th birthday. And no, it wasn’t planned in either case as I was told.

      Like

      • Jules says:

        It is more common than you think to have folks with similar birthdays in family or not – just in the same room. A few years back Mom, Dad and all the kiddos all had the same birth date. I don’t think folks on Feb 29 actually get short changed all that much ๐Ÿ˜‰

        Like

      • I had always heard that a gathering of 20 or more people usually will have at least two of them sharing a birthday, but didn’t realize that shared birthdays are more common in families. I know we have four family members with the same birthday, but it is purely coincidental (a niece, a brother-in-law, a cousin, and my husband) since only two can claim DNA.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Jules says:

    We have a nephew and a DIL same day.

    Hubby and DIL’s sib have the same day.

    Who knows more could be if I did a Fam DNA thingy. Hubby though isn’t interested in those things. And we can go back a few generations… just to great grands… maybe some great-greats? But not to all the sibs and cousins.

    Like

    • You do have quite a few family members with the same birthday, I have to say.

      We had our DNA tested, and it has shown us some interesting things. I have relatives all over the place. I also know my genetic makeup and was surprised by some of the ethnicity that shows up in my DNA profile. We have found it to be extremely accurate, too, as several of my cousins have also had their DNA tested and the results were as expected (no surprises there!). It is a bit pricey though although during some holidays the companies drop the price by 40% or 50%.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jules says:

        I could see how that kind of testing can be good for medical issues. And there are some that will not share your results.

        I read once of a set of triplets that had their DNA done and one of the three was slightly different from the other two! Odd how that works.

        A another guy who was adopted… did his and got some expected and unexpected results.

        I think the guy who did Reading Rainboe… was that Lavar Burton had his done and found out that one of his ‘relatives’ way back was actually a slave owner!

        Like

Leave a comment