SNC #Chasershots

Normally this non-musical (I sing in the key of Off) pedometer geek reviews books because that’s what I know best, but not letting my lack of knowledge about music stop me, this is my lack-of-smart-phone #chasershots review of yesterday afternoon’s performance of Straight No Chaser’s 20th Anniversary show of I’ll Have Another World Tour in Cleveland, Ohio. To be honest, I don’t want a phone that is smarter than me, but I digress.

In a word, fantastic! From contemporary songs like Uptown Funk to smooth ballads to mash-up Christmas songs, they go Everywhere Man in their not-so-straight laced a capella renderings of songs. Face it, this ten-man group rocks the sold-out house every time, and this was no exception as they seemingly blended songs together. From tenors to baritones to the “percussionist” to the basses, each member’s vocal talents were on display and highlighted. Frankly since seeing them two years ago, I can’t ever hear Meghan Trainor’s All About the Bass without singing (No tenors)ย instead . Their music is just that infectious and memorable.

This is the third time good friends Jackie and Chuck, my husband, and I have been to see them, and I have yet to be disappointed. It would have been four times, but frankly they sold out last year’s tickets so fast that we were out of luck in our attempts to purchase them, but I digress once again. Cleveland always is fortunate to have two shows on their yearly tour, but any city is lucky to be booked on their tour, and now the group has even expanded their tour to Europe (and beyond?).

This Midwestern singing group began in 1996 at Indiana University, and became aย  YouTube sensation with their own particular take on The Twelve Days of Christmas. (Google SNC or Straight No Chaser for this gem.) Then they were picked up by PBS to do a show, and the rest, they say, is history.

Their shows attract people from all walks of life, young and old alike, but mostly the young-at-heart. ย If you get the chance, see them in person. It is well worth the money, but if not, they have CDs available (and what’s more, the members are more than willing to autograph them at their post-show event).

What more can I say? I loved the show (#awesome).

 

 

 

 

 

About pedometergeek

A pharmacist by profession, a haiku poet by nature, I read and write. I have a book of haiku, Ohayo Haiku, and another somewhat alternative haiku book, Three Breaths, but write other genres. I also read...lots of novels! My favorite is, and remains, Ayn Rand's Atlas Shrugged but I am also a big Harry Potter fan. I truly am a pedometer geek strapping on my pedometer as soon as I awaken.
This entry was posted in a capella, blog, pedometer geek, Straight No Chaser, Tweet, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to SNC #Chasershots

  1. janjoy52 says:

    Sounds like fun!๐Ÿ˜

    Like

    • It was fun,Janjoy. If you ever have the opportunity to see them, it is well worth the money. At least at this venue, the tickets weren’t outrageously priced, either (I have been to concerts where one ticket cost more than both of ours…and frankly, as I wrote out the check I realized that the price was the same as two years ago). If nothing else, seriously check out YouTube to get a taste of SNC’s musical stylings. ~nan

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on nbsmithblog…random digressions and musings and commented:

    Check out Straight No Chaser, and head to their Facebook page, Twitter account, Instagram, or YouTube

    Like

  3. Yes, that sounds like fun. They’re amazingly clever and talented. Cheers

    Liked by 1 person

  4. julespaige says:

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Straight_No_Chaser_(group)
    I’ll have to have a listen when the grands are gone, or tomorrow.
    Guess these days ‘You’ve made it’ when you’re on Wiki! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Yes, they do. They mix current songs with oldies.

    Like

Leave a Reply

