MMM Marathon in a Month

MMM stands for Million Mile Month, and October is their Marathon Month challenge, and this pedometer geek is participating. The idea is to challenge oneself to run or walk the equivalent of 26.2 miles (a marathon), 50 miles (ultra-marathon), or 100 miles (ultra-ultra marathon) either all in one day or over the course of the thirty-one days of October. Registration is free, but tax-deductible donations are gratefully accepted to Healthcode, the organization that runs the site and supports healthy living (see http://www.millionmilemonth.org for more details and consideration joining).

I challenged myself to walk the ultra-marathon, but I am realistic enough to know that IΒ  won’t do it all in one day. I hope to complete it over the course of the month. I decided this a month or so ago when I thought I had plenty of time to walk.

It was before I took a part-time job with the local Board of Elections. The next month or so I am working there to prepare for the election on the eighth of November (for those of you who may have missed it, there is a Presidential election this year, but I digress) and help with absentee and early voting. There is one catch to this job, however; much of the work is done sitting down and walking seems to be at a minimum (or at least it has been during the first few days of work).

Regardless, this pedometer geek needs to step up my game as I have been seriously slacking in the past couple months since I have stopped blogging my step totals (right after I had finally managed a month of 10,000 steps (or more) every day). In fact, September’s total of 130,338 steps with 9074 aerobic steps were some of the worst in several years. The last time I had a total that low was in February 2014.

So, in order to motivate me to complete my ultra-marathon, here are my numbers for the past months starting with my high water mark in March and my gradualΒ  or not-so-gradual, ignominious decline to September’s abysmal numbers.

March: 329,663 steps/185,901 aerobic steps/31 days of +10K

April: 167,976 steps/39,344 aerobic steps/1 day of +10K

May: 200,469 steps/40,528 aerobic steps/3 days of +10K

June: 167,395 steps/9,577 aerobic steps/2 days of +10K

July: 199,157 step/13,463 aerobic steps/2 days of +10K

August: 150,609 steps/5,936 aerobic steps/0 days of 10K

September: 130,338 steps/9,074 aerobic steps/0 days of 10K

That’s it for this pedometer geek. I’m heading out as I am going to walk to the post office and just get some steps in as I have fifty miles to log in the next thirty-one days.

 

 

 

About pedometergeek

A pharmacist by profession, a haiku poet by nature, I read and write. I have a book of haiku, Ohayo Haiku, and another somewhat alternative haiku book, Three Breaths, but write other genres. I also read...lots of novels! My favorite is, and remains, Ayn Rand's Atlas Shrugged but I am also a big Harry Potter fan. I truly am a pedometer geek strapping on my pedometer as soon as I awaken.
This entry was posted in Million Mile Month, MMM, pedometer geek, ultra-marathon, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to MMM Marathon in a Month

    • Thanks Jane…appreciate it. What a friend you are. By the way, my few days at the BOE has been eye opening about what a huge job you have. I wish you all the best, all the luck. ~nan

      Like

  1. janjoy52 says:

    Awesome! Good for you to give you self a challenge and not be afraid to set the bar high!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is easy enough to join, janjoy. And 26.2 miles over 31 days is ls than a mile a day (about 2000-2500 steps depending on your stride). I have to admit there was one in April and I overreached. Figured I could tackle 100 miles since the month before I did so well, but then I had surgery and only managed a little more than half that. ~nan

      Liked by 1 person

  2. julespaige says:

    I started out attempting 5,000 steps a day. Now I’m trying to up it to 7500…then to 10,000.
    Which with the cooler weather may not last through the winter.
    My simple pedometer registers that about 6,000 is 2 miles. I’m going to have to ‘up’ my game if I am going to achieve the minimum. Something to work on…

    Good luck to you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It isn’t easy, but obviously you are doing it. To go from 5000 to 7500 to 10,000 is fantastic.I still have lots of days when I don’t make 5000 even now. In the winter, I use the treadmill and still walk to the post office, library, etc. as much as possible.
      Keep up the good work, JP, and you can still join the MMM Marathon..with your steps you’ll knock off 26.2 miles easily.
      By the way, I’m about a quarter of the way through my fifty mile ultra-marathon. Eleven plus miles with twenty-five days to go. ~nan

      Liked by 1 person

      • julespaige says:

        Most days I do 2 to 4 miles. But I am going to try to get the 26.2. I don’t join all that much on line. But knowing that you are ‘walking’ with me helps πŸ˜‰
        I haven’t been keeping exact records but I am close to 14 as of this morning. OK I figured out I really only have to do 2 miles a day…but I’ll try for more. Though I don’t think I’ll go crazy this first time around. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  3. You are doing better than me, but I am proud to be “walking” with you. I guess I need to step up my game as I am only doing about 2 miles per day and you are definitely outpacing me. Keep up the good work. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • julespaige says:

      Just to let you know I’ve reached the 26.2 mark – so I guess I’m now aiming for 50.
      I’m trying to average 4 miles a day. And I’ve got an area by me that’s just a tad hilly so I attempt that at least three or four times a week. Don’t know what I’m going to do when it actually gets cold. I might have to walk the mall! πŸ˜‰

      Though I usually try and stay away from the mall from about Thanksgiving until after the New Year.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. You are doing better than me, JP. I have just crossed the 26.2 mark today so must keep walking to have any chance of making my 50. I started a short-term job and it has seriously hampered my walking. While I move back and forth in the office, it is not enough. I hope to move more this weekend since I work all next week. I will get it done though and I may be hitting the treadmill soon. I avoid the mall as much as possible too πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  5. julespaige says:

    With your encouragement…I think I’ll end up at 50 today.
    So now I’ve got to ‘go that extra mile’ to make 100! Eek!
    And it is getting colder…maybe I’ll just have to walk faster to stay warm.

    You’ll make the 26 for sure. It is only the 16th. You might make that 50 yet. You can do it!
    Without hills I used to be able to walk a mile in about 20 minutes…but that was (cough) when I was a tad younger. So now I know I have to set aside more time. I probably won’t get a whole bunch in Friday as I’ll have a little visitor most of the day. And the weekend is also filled with family visits. Maybe I can get some of my family to walk with me?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have no doubt you’ll make 50; you are already more than halfway there. As for the 100, we are both going to have to really ‘rock it’ (as kids say), but I am game if you are. I figure we have to average about 5 miles per day, which for me is more than 10,000 steps. On the other hand, 50 miles wouldn’t be too shabby.
      My new job is really making it difficult to get the steps in so I understand your Friday dilemma with visitors. While I am on my feet for most of the day, most of the time, I am standing in front of a computer and walking a few steps back and forth, to and fro, to complete the transaction.
      Getting your family to walk with you would be a win-win. You spend quality time with them, and you all get exercise. What’s not to like.
      Speaking of getting exercise, maybe I should be getting on the treadmill before supper as I have about 3 miles to go.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I am, and hope you are, too.

    Like

  7. Even though I dwell in Australia with a 16hr time difference and was ordering door
    knobs from Italy that weren’t in stock, the whole process was faultless.

    Like

Leave a Reply

