Typos that give pause…

Typos, I hate them, especially mine. I even correct my typos if I find them later (days, months, even years later), but sometimes there are typos I find…in books, in signs, on Facebook (perish the thought!) that give me pause. Typos that make me think, laugh, or whatever suits my fancy.

This is a story about one of them. For those who know me, I am a pedometer geek and I can be found walking around the city. I walk to the post office; I walk to the bank: I walk to the library: I walk to the lake. Suffice it to say, I walk; however, that doesn’t make me a streetwalker, but I digress.

Having said that, I do walk to and from the post office almost daily, and generally I take the same route. Along the way, I pass the Huron Boat Basin amphitheater, which has the summer line-up of shows and events posted on a sign that is re-painted, then hung each year with the dates and events for the current year.

As many times as I have walked past it since it was re-hung with 2015’s events, I didn’t really pay attention until the other day. That’s when I caught it: the typo that gave me pause. The typo that might not be a typo if examined more closely.

The date and event: July 25: X-Mass; Rumors (a Fleetwood Mac tribute band)

X-Mass! Is it a typo or not? Is X-mass the equivalent of X-games (extreme games) for a mass? In other words: Extreme mass for the city of Huron? The largest church in Huron is St. Peter’s Catholic Church so…maybe there will be an outdoor mass, one of the largest ever, an X-sized mass, perhaps? Or even a X-rated mass?

Whatever X-Mass is, it sounds like it could be pretty cool even if I am not a Catholic.

Of course, I know that Huron Parks and Recreation’s Boat Basin always has a Christmas in July celebration, but I like considering the other possibilities. I have probably not thought of all of them so feel free to send along suggestions on what X-Mass might mean, too.

Disclaimer: Since there are those people who get all bent out of shape about abbreviating Christmas to X-Mas, here is the explanation. In the Greek alphabet, Chi, that is X, is often used to replace the first three letters in Christ, which is why people shorten it to X-mas. They are not taking the Christ out of Christmas.

About pedometergeek

A pharmacist by profession, a haiku poet by nature, I read and write. I have a book of haiku, Ohayo Haiku, and another somewhat alternative haiku book, Three Breaths, but write other genres. I also read...lots of novels! My favorite is, and remains, Ayn Rand's Atlas Shrugged but I am also a big Harry Potter fan. I truly am a pedometer geek strapping on my pedometer as soon as I awaken.
This entry was posted in blog, Christmas in July, humor, pedometer geek, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Typos that give pause…

  1. julespaige says:

    One does learn something new everyday.
    Normalcy is what ever one wants it to be. Say the route to the post office and noticing typo’s.

    For me it is being home and cooking my own dinner. Now though I suppose I’m going to be noticing more typo’s… thanks 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. rebbthoughts says:

    I enjoyed everything about this post, Nan! I keep my eyes out for typos too–in my own writing, at work, on menus–anything that stands out. I felt drawn to come back and leave a comment because wouldn’t you know it, the same day I read your post, later that day at work I was going to send a similar letter out and used one I had previously typed up and made a few changes; and then I spotted a typo that I hadn’t picked up the first time. Ugh! That drives me crazy. It was easily missed, so I don’t think that the recipient will catch it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rebb, you make me laugh despite the fact that typos are no laughing matter. No, most times the recipient doesn’t notice, but for those of us who do…it is like a red flag to a bull or a neon light flashing on and off. ~nan

      Like

Leave a Reply

