Haiku Happenings: Cold Moon Journal, February 2024

Thanks to Roberta Beach Jacobson, the editor of the Cold Moon Journal and Five Fleas Itchy Poetry, this pedometer geek poet had two haiku published in her Cold Moon Journal in February. The two haiku are as follows:

chattering sparrows
in the burning bush
—town gossips
~Nancy Brady, 2024

dirty slush…
all the cars on the road
the same color
~Nancy Brady, 2024

Thanks, Robin, for selecting these two haiku. I truly appreciate that you published them on Cold Moon. To read all the haiku, check out https://coldmoonjournal.blogspot.com/

In other haiku happenings, Mark’s blog comment triggered the following off-the-cuff haiku:

mid-winter night
another poem about
snow flurries
~Nancy Brady, 2024

To read the haiku that Mark wrote, check out his haiku in the comment section at https://seasonwords.com/2024/02/02/week-05-nahaiwrimo/

About pedometergeek

A pharmacist by profession, a haiku poet by nature, I read and write. I have my debut book of haiku, Ohayo Haiku, and another somewhat alternative haiku book, Three Breaths, but write other genres. I have an illustrated children's book, The Adventures of Aloysius. I also read...lots of novels! My favorite is, and remains, Ayn Rand's Atlas Shrugged but I am also a big Harry Potter fan. I truly am a pedometer geek strapping on my pedometer as soon as I awaken.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Haiku Happenings: Cold Moon Journal, February 2024

  1. Ashley says:

    Marvellous haiku, Nan. I love the chattering sparrows haiku especially, as you’ve captured their little personalities perfectly. 🤗🙋‍♂️

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mark S says:

    Hi Nan,

    “dirty slush” made me laugh! I had that same thought yesterday when I went out to the parking lot after work. I glad you were able to capture that moment in haiku!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey Mark! Glad you liked the “dirty slush” haiku and it made you laugh. It came to me as I was driving to an appointment. All the cars looked the same, gray and encrusted with salt stains. I’m beginning to believe that when I don’t think so hard (off the cuff) my haiku are better. Thanks for reading!   ~Nan

      Liked by 1 person

  3. JC home says:

    Chattering sparrows in the burning bush made me laugh. That is exactly what town gossips are! Talk about nailing it…Man you did it there.
    Dirty slush, Mid winter night…Glad I don’t have to deal with them anymore. Connecticut winters were brutal. And all the cars were red from the stuff they threw on the roads.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, JC. I am glad you found the humor in my haiku. Every time I hear a bunch of sparrows grouped together chattering, I think of gossips. Believe it or not, I have sent this haiku (with different types of bushes) to so many different journals with rejection after rejection. I am so glad that Roberta found it worthy of publication.

      Our cars don’t turn red in the slush, but all look grayish from a salt and slush spraying up on the sides of the cars. I’m glad you’ve escaped to the sunny Carolinas!

      Like

  4. maddyhaikus says:

    Hi Nan: Congratulations for two poems being published! Well done! The burning bush is wonderful and resonates. I had never heard of a burning bush before…so, I looked them up…they are beautiful and have the same name as the one in the bible!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Madeleine, for checking out my blog and my haiku. After changing the type of plant, I finally had someone (Roberta) accept this haiku; I’ve had that haiku rejected multiple times by multiple journals, yet I could not let it go. I’m sure you probably know what I mean.

      Yes, burning bushes are beautiful in the autumn when they turn to bright red. Before then, they are rather ordinary green, but regardless of the season, sparrows love ours (which is right outside our side door). As long as I have seen them growing up, for the first time, I noticed they have small red berries on them this fall. Weird, huh? I may just have to write a ku about them. Or not!    ~Nan

      Like

  5. maddyhaikus says:

    Sounds good Nan!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. maddyhaikus says:

     Delighted to check out your blog and your lovely haiku! I do understand what you mean. And I am happy you persevered. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Madeleine,

       I’ve been elated, exasperated, and befuddled wondering why suddenly these older ku are being accepted when they weren’t before. Is it because I have changed them up just a bit, or is something else entirely? What is the difference between the following:

      in the hedgerow

      the chattering of sparrows

      –town gossips 

      and the one above (burning bush)? Is it the editor or something else? Inquiring minds want to know, or more specifically, I would like to know.

                             ~Nan

      Like

  7. Jules says:

    Sometimes in winter all there are is shaded of mush. That’s why it is such a treat when the sun is out in the morning and comes through the crystals!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment