Haiku Happenings: Pan Haiku Review 2 (The Kigo Lab Special and Cold Moon Journal

The Pan Haiku Review 2 (The Kigo Lab Special) has been published in the past few days. Pan Haiku Review is the brainchild of Alan Summers, who may be the penultimate haiku cheerleader and coach. By cheerleader and coach, he encourages and teaches those who write (or even begin to write) haiku and other haiku disciplines.

This online issue of Pan Haiku Review 2 (The Kigo Lab Special) features three-line haiku (tercets) with kigo from haiku poets around the globe as well as essays, haiga, and so much more. It may take this pedometer geek poet the whole of 2024 to read and absorb it all; however, for those who may not be haiku aficionados, there is still so much to enjoy. It is available at https://www.callofthepage.org/the-pan-haiku-review/ as a PDF so consider checking it out and reading some other poets’ haiku.

This pedometer geek poet submitted two haiku. One haiku was to have been previously published, but the other haiku was not. That was the parameters of the submission. The following haiku were published:

crow moon
rose petals drop
onto the casket
~Nancy Brady, 2020
 published in Stardust Haiku: Poetry With a Little Sparkle, Issue #39, March 2020

winter solstice
the full moon
reflects his eyes
~Nancy Brady, 2024

Thank you, Alan, for including these two haiku in Pan Haiku Review 2 (The Kigo Lab Special). I really appreciate it (and all the work you do supporting the poets in the worldwide haiku community).

In other haiku happenings, this pedometer geek also had a haiku published in the Cold Moon Journal yesterday. Cold Moon Journal’s editor is Roberta Beach Jacobson, and she selected the following haiku for inclusion in the January edition:

wood smoke
in the wind
–last rites
~Nancy Brady, 2024

Thanks, Robin, for choosing this haiku for inclusion. Not only is Robin the editor of Cold Moon Journal, but she is also the editor of Five Fleas Itchy Poetry. She is the author of Demitasse Fiction and a contributor of Chicken Soup for the Soul series as well.To read all the haiku by poets around the world, in this month’s journal, check out https://coldmoonjournal.blogspot.com/

About pedometergeek

A pharmacist by profession, a haiku poet by nature, I read and write. I have my debut book of haiku, Ohayo Haiku, and another somewhat alternative haiku book, Three Breaths, but write other genres. I have an illustrated children's book, The Adventures of Aloysius. I also read...lots of novels! My favorite is, and remains, Ayn Rand's Atlas Shrugged but I am also a big Harry Potter fan. I truly am a pedometer geek strapping on my pedometer as soon as I awaken.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Haiku Happenings: Pan Haiku Review 2 (The Kigo Lab Special and Cold Moon Journal

  1. vhosking says:

    Nicely done, Nan. 👏🏻

    Liked by 1 person

  2. haikutec says:

    Wow, thank you Nancy!

    Alan

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Mark S says:

    Hi Nan, Congratulations! I am not sure if “crow moon” or “wood smoke” is my favorite of these three. They are all really good!
    I just started reading this issue of Pan Haiku. I am excited about the kigo focus. Have a good week!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Mark,
      Thanks for reading and for the kind comment of the dilemma of choosing a favorite between all of those two. I wrote a longer poem that is similar to “crow moon” about the burial of a friend.
      I think you are going to enjoy and learn quite a bit from Pan Haiku; I know I am learning more about kigo from the essays and examples of newly created kigo.
      Have a good week and stay warm.
      ~Nan

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment