Haiku Happenings: Cold Moon Journal

This pedometer geek poet just had two haiku published in Roberta Beach Jacobson’s Cold Moon Journal. Roberta is not only an editor of several journals (Cold Moon, obviously, and Five Fleas (itchy poetry)), but is an outstanding haiku poet in her own right. She also publicizes other journals’ submission dates.

Thanks, Robin, for selecting these two haiku for inclusion in this month’s journal:

ski vacation…

hands cupped around mugs

of hot chocolate

Nancy Brady, 2023

moonlit night

a catamaran glides over

stars

Nancy Brady, 2023

To read all the haiku, check out https://coldmoonjournal.blogspot.com/ Robin posts a few poets nearly every day, so consider returning to her site regularly.

About pedometergeek

A pharmacist by profession, a haiku poet by nature, I read and write. I have my debut book of haiku, Ohayo Haiku, and another somewhat alternative haiku book, Three Breaths, but write other genres. I have an illustrated children's book, The Adventures of Aloysius. I also read...lots of novels! My favorite is, and remains, Ayn Rand's Atlas Shrugged but I am also a big Harry Potter fan. I truly am a pedometer geek strapping on my pedometer as soon as I awaken.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Haiku Happenings: Cold Moon Journal

  1. Jules says:

    I’d be holding the hot chocolate since I don’t ski!

    Sailing with the stars… soon, soon…

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have skied in the past; don’t know that I could now (without breaking a bone). As for sailing with the stars, always even if in dreams, JP.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jules says:

        I’m hoping ‘the ship’ has an observation room. Other wise I’ll stand on deck… even for just a few moments. Maybe I’ll have my star app installed and can figure out some of the constellations names?

        (Yeah, old legs and bumb knees do not like to ski…)

        Liked by 1 person

  2. JC home says:

    Went skiing twice in my life. Both times I swore I’d never go again!
    But the hot chocolate sounds good.

    Liked by 1 person

    • JC, thanks for reading. I skied in high school and a bit in college (and post-college), but I am not a great skier. On the other hand, I really enjoyed the feeling of moving fast down the slopes. To me, making it downhill without falling and in one piece was the goal. Getting up from the ground with large sticks attached to my feet was never easy. I guess I’m not too coordinated. Now, I’d probably stay in the lodge and drink the hot chocolate.

      Like

      • JC home says:

        Yeah. Skiing involves cold and snow and I don’t care too much for either. I always picture myself sitting in the snow with that St. Bernard with the brandy barrel around his neck, now empty, waiting for the ski patrol to come and get me.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Jules, there will be an observation room, I am sure. Most big ships (cruise ships) have areas that allow you to look out, and there’s nothing better than watching the stars away from areas of light. They just pop, and that’s a great idea to download an app that shows the constellations. I have one of those old-fashioned cardboard wheels that can be spun to the date of the year. Mostly, I just look up. Old school, you know.

    Like

  4. Pied Type says:

    I went skiing, once, and exhausted myself just getting up from all the falls. But I did great with the hot chocolate at the bottom of the hill.

    Like

    • Yeah, I know what you mean. Falling isn’t nearly as bad as the effort it takes to get back up without accidentally sliding backwards in the process. Then there is the problem of tow ropes to get you up the hill especially if someone ahead of you falls down on the way up. Glad you found the pleasure of returning to the ski lodge, hot chocolate, and a warm fire. ~Nan

      Like

  5. JC,
    I could go for that–a St. Bernard and an empty cask although probably one or two sips would do me in.
    I find I like cold less and less every year. It takes more layers to warm up and I find myself sitting on a couch wrapped up in a blanket, holding a hot cup of tea, and hoping I don’t have to move for a long time. I rather like snow, though. I even enjoy shoveling the driveway and sidewalks before making a snow angel. Where’s that dog with the brandy again?

    Like

  6. Mark S says:

    Congratulations, and “moonlit night” is great! I like that one a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Thanks, Mark, that’s kind of you to say.

    Like

Leave a comment