We want tomorrow to be better

I didn’t write this, but think it bears repeating for its message because don’t we all want a better tomorrow. Especially after the last couple days.

Box o' Ducks

I’m sitting on the porch, enjoying the shade, the breeze and the quiet rustle of leaves. Church bells chime every hour, and cyclists pedal by. The parking spaces lining the streets and in the parking lots are almost empty and few cars pass by. A monarch butterfly flutters past. A yellow swallowtail stops briefly to investigate the phlox. A few bees buzz among the flowers lining the walk.

Sitting here is something I have resisted for some time now. Passers-by occasionally want to talk, and I’ve felt such an intense need for privacy I wait until nightfall to collect the mail or take out the trash. I’ve needed that peace so desperately, I sacrificed going outdoors even in the most beautiful weather.

Someone told me about a neighbor who worked in her garden only after dark, weeding and pruning by moonlight. Had I not heard that rumor and been afraid…

View original post 120 more words

About pedometergeek

A pharmacist by profession, a haiku poet by nature, I read and write. I have a book of haiku, Ohayo Haiku, and another somewhat alternative haiku book, Three Breaths, but write other genres. I also read...lots of novels! My favorite is, and remains, Ayn Rand's Atlas Shrugged but I am also a big Harry Potter fan. I truly am a pedometer geek strapping on my pedometer as soon as I awaken.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to We want tomorrow to be better

  1. julespaige says:

    (Just letting you know a PC is on the way and if you want a current view…
    http://infosportwashington.cee.wisc.edu/LiveView.html
    I’ve also written some verse about my days at Strands…
    Thanks for stopping by, Hugs – Jules)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

