Million Mile Month: Nearing the end

A journey of a thousand miles starts with a single step.

For the Million Mile Month this pedometer geek chose a goal to complete eighty miles in April, but secretly I hoped to make one hundred miles. Having completed the original goal the other day, I have five days to make it to one hundred. As mentioned in previous posts, this pedometer geek also challenged myself to one thousand miles over the course of 2017.

Globally, the Million Mile Month participants have surpassed the million miles and are currently closing in on two million miles. It’s not to late to join, and help make the goal. It’s only five days!

Now, I’m off to hit the treadmill; this pedometer geek has to put a few more steps on my pedometer if I’m to reach a hundred miles.

About pedometergeek

A pharmacist by profession, a haiku poet by nature, I read and write. I have a book of haiku, Ohayo Haiku, and another somewhat alternative haiku book, Three Breaths, but write other genres. I also read...lots of novels! My favorite is, and remains, Ayn Rand's Atlas Shrugged but I am also a big Harry Potter fan. I truly am a pedometer geek strapping on my pedometer as soon as I awaken.
This entry was posted in Million Mile Month, MMM, pedometer geek, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Million Mile Month: Nearing the end

  1. julespaige says:

    Howdy Partner. Our insurance has a contest going. Though it is supposed to be teams there isn’t one team that has more than one ‘player’. I think I have a slight advantage…being a non-compensated worker… (semi- retired). But I don’t know who else might fit that bill. They haven’t tallied the rankings yet (today being the first day). I suppose they are waiting for midnight. But I’ve set the bar high since I’ve actually gotten in 9 (plus) miles today. I don’t have a treadmill. But there is a local gym I am considering (that I can actually walk to – on a good weather day.) And our insurance supposedly gets us a discount there. But that has yet to be figured out. Since there are two tiers I’m not sure to which one or both that the discount would apply.

    I’m also looking into a type of stand that will let me ride my own bike as a stationary one. I’ll need that in winter when I won’t be able to get out as much and there is only so much of walking the local mall I can stand πŸ˜‰

    I’ll have to check my monthly mileage for April (even with only starting on the 2nd). I’ll try to remember to check that and send you an email with the totals of steps and miles. πŸ™‚

    Keep on stepping πŸ™‚ Hugs, Jules

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow, JP! I am impressed, and I am not up to your numbers at all. While I managed to make over 100 miles (just barely at that), I fell short of averaging 10K throughout the month with a total of 290,980 steps (20 days of at least 10K so a third when I came up short of the goal). Already I am behind in May so will have to up my game.

      Rob actually brought back a stationary bicycle from his Dad’s house (they are cleaning out to sell it) so will be able to both ride and walk on the treadmill this winter. In the meantime, I really, really have to push myself. You have given me a reason to work harder as I obviously don’t in comparison to you. You nearly doubled me (I read your email before I found the comment). I’ll be posting actual numbers and other minutiae soon (tomorrow?). In the meantime, keep pushing me to do more and I’ll do the same.
      Hugs,
      Nan

      Like

Leave a Reply

