A Different Way of Seeing

I wrote this several years ago, and it was published in the anthology entitled On Being a Pharmacist: True Stories by Pharmacists, compiled and edited by Joanna Maudlin Pangilinan and J. Aubrey Waddell. It was published by the American Pharmacists Association in 2010.

I share it now.

     Ancaro imparo means “I am still learning” and is attributed to the 87-year-old Michelangelo. Like him, I am still learning and have found that nearly every pharmacist has been able to teach me something. That’s one of the great advantages to working with so many people over the years. The mentoring process is ongoing and perhaps even subtle at times. Often, we learn to do something a better, easier way. Sometimes it’s a new technique, or it’s a more effective way to communicate with the patients we serve. At times, we even learn how best not to do something.

Once, the lesson I learned was how to be more compassionate. Lori was a technician I hired many years ago. She had a gap of nearly 5 years in her work history, and I wondered whether she would be dependable. From her interview, I found out that she was a mother of two young boys and was just reentering the workforce. Although she was on welfare, she had plans to go back to school to finish her education.

At the time, I wondered if I would be taking a gamble by hiring her. In the end, I decided to give her a try, and, boy, did that gamble pay off! She was extremely dependable, had a great work ethic, and was upbeat about everything. In her words, she was “blessed” despite the difficulties of rearing two boys, returning to school full time, working, and being on welfare. I worked with her for several years until she graduated as a nurse.

One day when we were working together, a patient on welfare came in to pick up a prescription. The prescription was written for Phospho-soda, which is an over-the-counter (OTC) medication. In the state in which I reside, OTC medications are not, for the most part, covered by Medicaid; however, prescription medications are. Thus, even if the patient has a prescription for an OTC medication, she would have to pay for it. Most patients on Medicaid cannot afford to pay for any medication that isn’t covered by their insurance, no matter how inexpensive.

In the patient’s case, this medication, being used for a procedure, was medically necessary, yet the patient did not have the money to pay for it. At that, Lori said that she would pay for it, and she did. She, who could ill afford it herself, paid for the patient’s prescription.

I admit that I was embarrassed by my lack of generosity and compassion. That I, who could easily afford it, couldn’t see that the patient’s need outweighed the cost, but Lori did.

Whether she knows it or not, that act of stewardship has forever changed the way I look at patients and their needs. I believe I have become a more caring pharmacist and have at times done the same thing for others—whether it’s a college student away from home and out of cash, a person who just can’t afford a needed antibiotic, or some other equally important reason. No, I don’t pay for everyone’s prescriptions, and I don’t do it all the time, but sometimes it is as Lori said, “Well, she needs it, doesn’t she?”

Nancy Brady, 2009

 

About pedometergeek

A pharmacist by profession, a haiku poet by nature, I read and write. I have a book of haiku, Ohayo Haiku, and another somewhat alternative haiku book, Three Breaths, but write other genres. I also read...lots of novels! My favorite is, and remains, Ayn Rand's Atlas Shrugged but I am also a big Harry Potter fan. I truly am a pedometer geek strapping on my pedometer as soon as I awaken.
This entry was posted in blog, On Being a Pharmacist: True Stories by Pharmacists, pedometer geek, short story, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A Different Way of Seeing

  1. julespaige says:

    There are times when those in need resist asking for help. I prefer to give/gift anonymously when ever I can. Even donating those things which I no longer want to charity helps that charity by training, providing shelter and meals and/or employing those under the name of the charity.

    Other times to pay for a lunch for an older vet, gift blankets or warm weather ware to those in need. Every act of compassion does not need the fan fair of recognition, but is enjoyed by the receiver whose smiles and thanks are all the return that is needed.

    Liked by 1 person

    • JP, Anyone I ever helped did not ask for it; I just realized that it seemed necessary at the time. I didn’t make a big fuss; in fact, for the most part, it was done anonymously (the person didn’t know who took care of it…the medication was just handed to them without fanfare). There were even some staff members who told me I couldn’t/shouldn’t do this, but as I told them, it wasn’t their decision to make; it was mine. Actually, to be honest, they didn’t know what my motivation was, nor did I ever explain. I wrote the story to thank Lori for making me a better pharmacist. I didn’t really believe it would ever be published when I wrote it. ~nan

      Liked by 1 person

  2. A lovely, inspiring story, Nan. Thank you so much for sharing it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. janjoy52 says:

    Our perspectives and sensitivity is often honed by our life lessons. This employee saw the true need of her customer and had compassion because she walked in those shoes. This pharmacist took on a new lens and a heart of compassion because it was acted out by the employee and, hopefully all who read this blog will look at the needy with fresh eyes of compassion and consider ways to be a blessing. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. drugopinions says:

    I think everyone can learn from your story – people may not have as much but their hearts may be bigger than ours. Thank you for sharing your story.

    Like

    • Thank you for your comment, too, as well as expressing your pharmaceutical/pharmacological opinions. Your blogs make sense in a world that people who are not behind the counter need to hear/understand. I wrote a column in my local paper about similar issues I thought others might not understand but could use. The editor loved them; said it was her favorite part of the paper. Anyhow, keep up the good work; you’re doing it right. ~nan

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

