Resolutions, Revisited: Part 1

(Okay, to be honest, I started this post more than a week ago, but I liked the beginning so I am not changing it.)

The end of 2016 is nearly here; 2017 is just around the corner, and this pedometer geek has forgone all the monthly reports on steps taken and books read. Despite the lack of monthly blogs, the resolutions have remained ongoing, and for the most part, there were an almost equal number of successes as failures (or should that be an equal number of failures as successes…in other words, is it more positive one way or the other?).

Having said that, regarding the first resolution of putting more steps on the pedometer, here is a roundup for the year. Except for the highlight of obtaining the goal of 10,000 steps every single day in March (finally the goal was reached), there have been several months in which this pedometer geek slacked off, particularly as the year neared its end. Aerobic steps leveled off, too. (Aerobic steps are those steps of at least ten continuous minutes of walking.) Again, the high was in March. Here are the totals for the year.

January: 248,245 steps/109,406 aerobic steps

February: 291,681 steps/159,579 aerobic steps

March: 329,663 steps/185,901 aerobic steps

April: 163,976 steps/39,344 aerobic steps

May: 200,469 steps/40,528 aerobic steps

June: 167,395 steps/9,577 aerobic steps

July: 199,157 steps/13,463 aerobic steps

August: 150,609 steps/5,936 aerobic steps

September: 130,338 steps/9,074 aerobic steps

October: 144,715 steps/7,109 aerobic steps

November: 113,547 steps/5,384 aerobic steps

December: 136,870 steps/13,326 aerobic steps

With the advent of 2017, new goals (resolutions) are being set. Of course, first and foremost, the goal remains to put 10K daily on the pedometer, but this pedometer geek has decided to track mileage as well. The goal is to log 1,000 miles this year. To do so will require about three miles a day, which equates to about 10,000 steps a day based on this pedometer geek’s stride length. In other words, it will take concerted, continual effort, not just one or two months. Will it be accomplished? Time will tell.

Next post: Reading resolution roundup

 

 

 

 

About pedometergeek

A pharmacist by profession, a haiku poet by nature, I read and write. I have a book of haiku, Ohayo Haiku, and another somewhat alternative haiku book, Three Breaths, but write other genres. I also read...lots of novels! My favorite is, and remains, Ayn Rand's Atlas Shrugged but I am also a big Harry Potter fan. I truly am a pedometer geek strapping on my pedometer as soon as I awaken.
This entry was posted in MMM, New Year's resolutions, pedometer geek, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Resolutions, Revisited: Part 1

  1. Excellent effort, much applause. Happy stepping in 2017. Cheers

    Liked by 1 person

  2. julespaige says:

    I was doing about a 3 miles a day until the weekend. Got 2 in on Saturday and only 1.25 in on Sunday. But I am nursing a cold! 🙂 I might be able to make up some time when the weather warms up this week. Most of my ‘stomping’ has been indoors to the oldies station xD

    Always think positive and Good Luck!

    Like

  3. That’s fantastic, Nan! How I admire you! I keep thinking I’m going to get to 10,000 steps a day, but on my best day only got up to 9,000. You’ve inspired me, though. Time for me to get back on the treadmill. The ice on the walks is no excuse! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Barbara. I am always happy when I manage 9000 steps. That’s impressive and frankly, I don’t manage 10,000 steps easily. Right now, I have been using the treadmill to log steps as the sidewalks are a bit icy (and it sounds like a reasonable excuse to avoid falling). I do try to get out and walk a bit, but mostly right now it is the treadmill for me (and with that, I can read while I walk. I have done that while walking home from the library…not a safe way to walk particularly with the sidewalks in this city.) ~nan

      Like

  4. Scribe Doll says:

    Well done. I’m impressed. On the exercise front, after six months of pilates, I took up Qi Gong last September and, trust me, some of the stretches make pilates feel like it’s foro whimps :–) Now that I’ve learnt all seven movements of Dragon and Tiger Qi Gong, I practise an hour every morning. Feels wonderful. Even sorted my neck problem after pilates, physiotherapy and osteopathy failed.

    Like

  5. That sounds like more exercise (at least more difficult exercise) than walking. But it obviously works and I should look into it. ~nan

    Like

Leave a Reply

