MMM Marathon in a Month-Halfway

As the fifteenth of October comes to a close, this pedometer geek has completed the marathon having logged at least 26.2 miles; however, the ultra-marathon of 50 miles was the goal I set for myself. So there is some work to do in the next sixteen days to reach the 50 mile mark; however, I think it is doable.

Would I love to stretch the limits and achieve the ultra-ultra-marathon goal of 100 miles? Absolutely. Will I? Realistically, no. That won’t stop me from trying, however, and maybe getting close.

What I am most excited about is that fellow poet, writer, WordPress blogger, and friend, Jules Paige, has joined this challenge, too. She challenged herself to complete the marathon, and she has. Having completed the 26.2 miles, she is now working toward completing the ultra-marathon, too. I have no doubts she’ll surpass it easily, but cheer her on in her quest regardless.

JP, keep up the awesomeness…see you at the finish line.

 

About pedometergeek

A pharmacist by profession, a haiku poet by nature, I read and write. I have a book of haiku, Ohayo Haiku, and another somewhat alternative haiku book, Three Breaths, but write other genres. I also read...lots of novels! My favorite is, and remains, Ayn Rand's Atlas Shrugged but I am also a big Harry Potter fan. I truly am a pedometer geek strapping on my pedometer as soon as I awaken.
This entry was posted in blog, Million Mile Month, MMM, pedometer geek, ultra-marathon, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to MMM Marathon in a Month-Halfway

  1. Congratulations! Great persistence and diligence.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. julespaige says:

    Ah…Good I hadn’t seen this! Odd how some comments don’t go through – I only saw the like to my comment on your post and went to investigate. And stayed to see if there was anything new ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I might need a hat, scarf and even mittens – But I’m going for the gold so we can share it! Because if it weren’t for your original post I wouldn’t be walking as much. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’d love to share the gold with you, JP. You have inspired me to work harder despite the new busyness of my days. Frankly, I have been slacking so now, I just have to do it. Let’s cross the finish line. ~nan

      Liked by 1 person

      • julespaige says:

        Trying to build up some reserve miles…So for the remaining days I only have about 2.5 to go per day. I don’t belong to a gym or have a tread mill in the house.

        Like

  3. You are doing better than me. You are moving, Lady. I think I will complete the 50 miles, but won’t manage the 100 mile mark.I just can’t seem to get more than 2.5 miles a day right now…and certainly not the 5 to 7 miles it would require to make it. Oh well…keep me apprised as I would love to see you accomplish the feat. ~nan

    Like

  4. julespaige says:

    I had to build up a little bit of a buffer (of miles)… for slow days and to catch up…But that is done now. So I’m on cruise control now. I’m sure I’ll be able to do a mile and 1/2 for the remaining days and maybe even take a day off!

    It does take time. Especially since I’m not as fast as I used to be ๐Ÿ˜‰ Something (time) I have a bit more of now that the grands aren’t here 24/7 ish. Well during the week days anyway. I think my goal for next month will be capping at 50. If I can get one mile outside and one in, that’s at least 2 miles per day and that would be 60.

    Don’t worry about catching up. Your 50 is a grand achievement too.

    Like

    • I have about five miles to go to hit fifty, and I think I will make it. I am cutting it close though. You, on the other hand, are amazing. Will you make the hundred? I sure hope so.

      Liked by 1 person

      • julespaige says:

        8:50 am 10/28 it’s official 100 miles.
        I was really close yesterday. It rained so I didn’t go out but the day before I put in 5 miles walking to the Library and Grocery store. So (not that I’m going to just sit for the next few days) I’m done ๐Ÿ™‚

        You can do it! Five miles in three days; a piece of cake!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Awesome! That’s is fantastic, JP, I figure I will get my 50, but it certainly doesn’t compare to your results. I’ll be glad when I am done with this job because my totals have to go up. I walk to many of my errands (post office, library, bank), but have not done as much of any of them in the past few weeks.Oh well….again, congrats; well done! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. julespaige says:

    It will be good to slow down. I think my knees would like that. ๐Ÿ˜‰
    If I had the grands, or even just one of them full time I wouldn’t have been able to do even 50.
    It was cold yesterday. Today is better – I might do some mowing…

    I did take a look at the ‘site’ but I just don’t want to have to sign up for another online thing. I barely look at the health stuff our own health insurance provides. And the only way to count miles through them is to be ‘hooked-up’ and I really don’t want that kind of ‘Big Brother’ eye at the moment. I don’t think they were all that happy when I said I didn’t want a ‘Life Coach’ either.

    Liked by 1 person

    • My pedometer is not hooked into the site either. It has readouts for steps, miles, calories, and aerobic steps, and keeps data for a week in memory besides the current day. I manually enter each day’s information into the site when I get the chance. Sometimes I am a day or two behind. I also have kept an Excel file on steps/aerobic steps for several years. I don’t own a Fitbit for the same reason. I don’t wish to be tracked and I know they do play the ‘Big Brother’ thing as you so succinctly said.

      By the way, I completed the ultra-marathon as of yesterday. I have two more days to just add to the total, but there is no way to put enough miles on my pedometer (and body) to manage the ultra-ultra like you. It would require almost two regular marathons over the two days.

      Congratulations again for doing such an outstanding job.

      Liked by 1 person

      • julespaige says:

        I think having good weather in October helped. And also not having any particular thing on my schedule ๐Ÿ˜‰
        I ended up with 108.

        I figure I can do about 2 miles a day just walking around in my home. So I’m going to have to brave the weather and go around the block once or twice to get that extra mile and a half if I want to get 5o miles in this month.

        Like

Leave a Reply

