Rebel Girl: a small stone poem

Rebel Girl

Shorts and a pink t-shirt

worn by young girl

Glittery sequins on shirt

“Rebel Girl”

At age five,

What does she have to rebel against?

Or is this empowerment?

 

A true rebel girl wouldn’t wear a sign.

She’d just be:

Old enough to know why

Old enough to understand, and

Old enough to pick out her own clothes.

 

I figured this was appropriate considering my review of Just Say Yes, written by Elizabeth Hayley, which was posted on http://www.pedometergeek.wordpress.com. More of my poems can be found in my poetry books: Three Breaths and Ohayo Haiku, which have been published by Drinian Press, LLC, and are available online from Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and other booksellers.

 

About pedometergeek

A pharmacist by profession, a haiku poet by nature, I read and write. I have a book of haiku, Ohayo Haiku, and another somewhat alternative haiku book, Three Breaths, but write other genres. I also read...lots of novels! My favorite is, and remains, Ayn Rand's Atlas Shrugged but I am also a big Harry Potter fan. I truly am a pedometer geek strapping on my pedometer as soon as I awaken.
This entry was posted in Drinian Press, pedometer geek, poem, three breaths, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rebel Girl: a small stone poem

  1. julespaige says:

    This reminds me of my Little Miss…independent at so young an age. But choosing from what Mother has bought (what her mother likes that is). I was never one for buying my children clothing that had writing or fashion labels. When they wanted the sneakers that cost more than I was willing to pay, they had to save up or add to the ‘kitty’ with there own money. Maybe I could get away with that with ‘boys’. But since I was a ‘rebel’ myself…

    I actually got away with not getting my children some electronic games. And later they thanked me for that too! I’m still not on ‘Facebook’. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well, I avoided labels and graphic t-shirts for my boys. They ended up with some, but only as gifts from others. Those they had were not allowed to be worn to school. My rules, not the schools. Plain shoes, nothing fancy either. Guess I was a mean mom, but the boys survived that. Now, video games….that was a different story. They liked playing those and for birthdays and holidays, they usually got those as long as 1) it was not totally violent, and 2) or overly graphic in nature. So games like Mario Brothers and Zelda and Tetris were what they got…anything else was up to them to save for.

      Liked by 1 person

      • julespaige says:

        One set of grandparents were ready to get them the “N” series. But frankly they made the mistake of asking…and we (hubby and I) collectively said ‘no’.

        Our boys had friends though that had those games. So they weren’t completely sheltered. I don’t think we are being mean by teaching respect and kindness. Defending yourself is one thing but teaching blind violence is another. And that’s what I think a bunch of those types of games do, besides turn one’s brain to mush. The games might be good for hand/eye coordination but lack in social skills with real people.

        Like

  2. Good for you. Hey, I outlawed certain music in the house. I know my sons weren’t happy with my decision, but they learned to live with it…and listened to it at friends’ houses. But not mine.

    Like

Leave a Reply

