Haiku? Senryu?

This pedometer geek must admit that I can’t always tell whether the haiku I write are really haiku or senryu. (Haiku is nature-based; the other is more human-based.) For me, it is a moment, a glimpse of something that affects me enough to write.

Anyhow, here are a few that I was honored to have published in the May 1, 2016 edition of Failed Haiku, which is edited by Michael Rehling, a recognized haiku poet. His blog (Failed Haiku) can be found here on WordPress, and it should definitely be checked out as there are plenty of wonderful haiku/senryu to be enjoyed each month.

tapping out
just one tablet from bottle
I Ching

5K run
the leaves outpacing
everyone

Sadie Hawkins Day
she asks him
for a divorce

nancy brady, 2016

About pedometergeek

A pharmacist by profession, a haiku poet by nature, I read and write. I have a book of haiku, Ohayo Haiku, and another somewhat alternative haiku book, Three Breaths, but write other genres. I also read...lots of novels! My favorite is, and remains, Ayn Rand's Atlas Shrugged but I am also a big Harry Potter fan. I truly am a pedometer geek strapping on my pedometer as soon as I awaken.
This entry was posted in blog, Failed Haiku, haiku, Michael Rehling, pedometer geek, poem, three breaths, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Haiku? Senryu?

  1. julespaige says:

    I generally just write what I like and let others choose the categories. 🙂
    I just submitted some haiku to our local news paper’s magazine…
    Though I haven’t heard back yet.

    Interesting about I Ching – at our library book store a few months back I found a set of Chien Tung, nature based fortune sticks claiming to be ‘the oldest known method of fortune telling in the world.’

    Liked by 1 person

    • Me too…as you can tell, I don’t know the difference. Good luck with your newspaper; hope they choose your poetry.

      My best friend had a I Ching set and it was always iffy getting only one stick out. Every time I shake out a tablet, I think fondly of all our good times together. I suspect Chien Tung may be the precursor for what was the toy we played with. ~nan

      Liked by 1 person

      • julespaige says:

        At least I got a reply saying I’m in the running so-to-speak. But they only publish one haiku a week and only one from the same poet quarterly.

        Every fortune telling device has its claims. I remember I Ching…

        Liked by 1 person

  2. jazzytower says:

    I am not always sure which is which either. Sometimes it’s a 3-way battle haiku, senryu or just a plain old micropoem:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

