Do I dare?

This pedometer geek may be jinxing myself by reporting that the goal is in sight and might be finally achieved in March.

A bit of history…the first pedometer was acquired some time in 2001. Since then, more pedometers of various manufacturers have been worn over the years. Some were lost; some were broken; and some were just non-functioning over time. One was lost when it fell out of my pocket at the Nairobi airport on the way to Eldoret, Kenya; I discovered the loss on the tarmac but too late, but I digress.

My favorite is my current one, an Omron Pocket Downloadable Pedometer, Model HJ-720ITFFP. To indicate just how much I like this model, this happens to be the third or fourth one of these I have had. I like all its bells and whistles. It not only counts steps, but it also counts aerobic steps, calories, and mileage. It has a seven-day memory and is downloadable to my computer (although I daily records my steps on an Excel spreadsheet).

My spreadsheets go back at least five years (including blanks when I was without a pedometer awaiting the arrival of the newest pedometer).  Despite this, and my desire to put 10,000 steps on my pedometer daily, I have never, ever achieved it consistently. Last month, I finally hit the figure overall, but there were still days when I was close, but still short of the goal.

This month, so far at least, this pedometer geek has put 10,000 steps or more every single day. (she said, bragging). I do have three days to go, but I plan on making it. There have been plenty of late nights when I have been logging steps on the treadmill just to make the goal. One particular night was March 15, the day of the primary election in Ohio; this pedometer geek started the day early (5AM to get to the precinct on time until the polls closed at 7:30PM, returning home about 9:30PM), but there were not many steps while sitting at the table so that most of them were put on once home.

Three days to go, and this pedometer plans on doing it. Will it happen again? This pedometer geek can only hope; on the other hand, it has only taken me fifteen years.

 

 

 

About pedometergeek

A pharmacist by profession, a haiku poet by nature, I read and write. I have a book of haiku, Ohayo Haiku, and another somewhat alternative haiku book, Three Breaths, but write other genres. I also read...lots of novels! My favorite is, and remains, Ayn Rand's Atlas Shrugged but I am also a big Harry Potter fan. I truly am a pedometer geek strapping on my pedometer as soon as I awaken.
This entry was posted in blog, pedometer geek, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Do I dare?

  1. julespaige says:

    I have a neighbor who does 10,000 or about 5 miles a day.
    I haven’t gotten that far. I usually get at least 5,000.
    I suspect on the days I have to (push) mow my yard I’ll get the 10,000 easy.
    Sometimes after dinner hubby and I walk the round trip of 3 miles to get a treat. I know kind of defeats the purpose of exercising XD

    Keep at it and good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Walking is walking, and we have often walked to the local ice cream stand for a treat. Every step counts! This is an unusual month for me, that I worked as hard as I did to achieve my goal. Last night I was still on the treadmill at 11:30 to make my goal. Of course, I have to say that I spent six hours on the road…three hours down to Dayton and three hours back. In between was a visit to the hospital…to see our newest member of the family. My grandson (son and daughter-in-law) was born on March 30. I almost gave up my goal for that, and it might have been worth it. He’s a cutie…looks a lot like my son when he was born. Keep walking…5000 steps is my normal day, not 10,000…especially if I don’t get on the treadmill. ~nan

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks, JP. I hope you and your family had a g

    Like

  3. julespaige says:

    3 different Beef Brisket recipes!
    3 children under 6!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. In other words, yes! Glad to hear it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

