Christmas Eve EVE

As the days ticked down to the holiday, busyness overrode the writing of this post. Other things were of greater concern and higher priority, but now that it is Boxing Day, there is a bit more time to write.

When my two sons were young, maybe five or six, they asked about the upcoming holiday events with extended family. As conversations tend to go, it morphed into a discussion about the naming of the day before Christmas, which is known as Christmas Eve.

Backing up a bit…it was always my ‘rule‘ to answer their questions, no matter the question or the situation as to the when and where, when they were asked because trying to return to the subject later just never seemed to happen. Over the years, I am sure that some people overhearing our conversations as we passed them in the aisle as we grocery-shopped must have done a double-take or two at our subject matter.

Anyhow, back to the discussion of naming Christmas Eve, or at least how I explained it to my kids, that is it was the night or evening before Christmas. Just like some people talk about Thanksgiving Eve (the night before Thanksgiving) or New Year’s Eve (which is known as Hogmanay to our Scottish family and friends). That the day/night prior could be spoken of that way for nearly any so-named holiday. I didn’t use All Hallow’s Eve as an example; I wasn’t willing to explain that as they were too young, but I digress.

As the conversation continued, one of them remarked that the night before Christmas Eve should be called Christmas Eve Eve, shouldn’t it? And then going one step further, the day before that would be Christmas Eve Eve Eve and so on as the discussion dissolved into chaos and laughter. From that time forward, in our family, December 23rd has been known as Christmas Eve Eve.

Until just recently, actually as recently as three days ago, I had never heard anyone else use this particular appellation for the twenty-third of December. Imagine my surprise when I heard a newscaster on the local TV station refer to the expected weather on Christmas Eve Eve. Then later on, I noticed another television reference to Christmas Eve Eve; across the screen were the actual words.

I guess the name is catching on. Can Christmas Eve Eve Eve be far behind?

About pedometergeek

A pharmacist by profession, a haiku poet by nature, I read and write. I have a book of haiku, Ohayo Haiku, and another somewhat alternative haiku book, Three Breaths, but write other genres. I also read...lots of novels! My favorite is, and remains, Ayn Rand's Atlas Shrugged but I am also a big Harry Potter fan. I truly am a pedometer geek strapping on my pedometer as soon as I awaken.
This entry was posted in Christmas Eve Eve, Hogmanay, holidays, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas Eve EVE

  1. julespaige says:

    Names are funny. Some explanation funnier.
    I always tried to answer my children’s questions as honestly as their ages allowed.
    Which reminds me of the (perhaps urban myth now rather than joke) of the little boy who asked where he came from. And the father struggled and coped and coughed explaining the birds and the bees. The child then said something like; “Dad that’s all well and good but the new kid down the street said he came from Cleveland and I just wanted to know where I came from.”

    Best to you and yours for 2016!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

