Not cow-ering to pressure…

Unlike many people I know, I do not turn off or mute the sound on television commercials. I find them interesting, funny, silly, clever, and/or insane. Some I like; others, not so much.

I also like milk, dairy milk that is. My cat likes it too, but I digress. When I was young, I probably subsisted on milk because as a child (and even now), I was a discriminating eater (some would claim I’m picky, but doesn’t discriminating sound classier?). I didn’t like many foods especially vegetables so basically I ate meat, cereal, and fruit as well as drank lots of milk to fill me up.

I am not lactose-intolerant so drinking milk has fortunately never been a problem for me (This should be obvious based on the above paragraph.) Nor has it been for my cat as she still drinks it, but I digress once again.

I am sympathetic to those who are afflicted with digestive problems connected to lactose. I know it is a problem for many; I know it was for my mom. I mention this only in light of two commercials that are currently running on television. Both of these products are advertised mainly to those who have lactose intolerance but both companies would love to expand their market beyond persons who have issues with breaking down milk. Thus, the advertisements.

The first is for Lactaid; the second is for Silk Almond milk.

First, here is the gist of the advertisement for the Lactaid commercial for those unfamiliar with it. A woman reaches into the milk refrigerator at her local store to grab a carton of milk and is greeted by a blue and white Lactaid cow (to match the carton). This cow is seen from the back, standing upright, and talks the woman into buying Lactaid.

What I find funny is that this cow has a butt that is not unlike one of the Kardashian sisters. Perhaps, the cow’s name could be Kim Cow-dashian based on her derriere alone. After the woman selects this lactose-free milk, they fist-bump (or in the case of the cow, hoof-bump).

The second commercial is for Silk Almond milk, and again for those unfamiliar with it, here is the gist. A spokes-Almond is standing on a kitchen counter and goading a man into trying some almond milk. The man is resistant because he doesn’t know if he will like the taste or not. The Almond keeps saying, “This is insane!” Finally, to shut the nut up, the man tries it and agrees that it does taste good, even better than milk.

My problem with this commercial is that if a person tries a new food or beverage, he doesn’t pour a full (eight-ounce) glass. He pours a sip or two into a small glass because anything beyond that would be a waste, especially if it turns out he doesn’t like it. That is the insane part, that he is willing to waste that much almond milk for a taste.

What’s more insane is that both Lactaid milk and Silk Almond milk are not cheap. If a gallon of dairy milk runs about three dollars a gallon, both of these products run about four and a half dollars for a half gallon. That’s even more expensive than a gallon of gas in California.

Granted, for those who have a need for these specialty milks, it is a godsend, but to promote these to the general public as these commercials seem to do, that seems crazy. By the way, there are coupons available on the individual companies’ websites which will reduce the cost of these products. Lactaid milk has a fifty-five cent coupon as well as other coupons for their other products; Silk Almond milk has a seventy cent coupon.

As for me, I will continue to drink milk and watch television ads. By the way, how do you milk an almond?

About pedometergeek

A pharmacist by profession, a haiku poet by nature, I read and write. I have a book of haiku, Ohayo Haiku, and another somewhat alternative haiku book, Three Breaths, but write other genres. I also read...lots of novels! My favorite is, and remains, Ayn Rand's Atlas Shrugged but I am also a big Harry Potter fan. I truly am a pedometer geek strapping on my pedometer as soon as I awaken.
This entry was posted in blog, pedometer geek and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Not cow-ering to pressure…

  1. julespaige says:

    Milk is an interesting subject. One to be well um…milked. Humans are the only animals that continue to drink milk once weaned. OK it may be good food. But, alas I am of the lactose intolerant folk and too much… well – not so good. So I’ve been drinking the Lactaid brand long before they started actually commercializing it, because as it turns out one of our children also favors his mother in that regard. Though he’s got to also take the little pills before eating most dairy and I do not. As for Almond Milk… well it can pound sand. I did try it. And unless they improve the texture… which is gritty as all get out it is going to stay on the shelf. There are probably other alternatives. But you know I’m going to stick with what works for me. 🙂

    Cheers and the Canna’s are growing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Long before the soy and almond milks, Lactaid in the tablets and milk were what I recommended to people who had issues like you. I bought Mom the drops when they first came out. Then the tablets when they were introduced. As she always said, “I weaned myself off milk at nine months of age.” It was only in hindsight that she realized how it affected her.

      Our cannas are blooming and we have even had the hummingbird to its blossoms. May you enjoy yours!

      Liked by 1 person

      • julespaige says:

        Perhaps I had a bad batch of almond milk. It was gritty to me.

        The promotion of Milk as a food might be a Dairy industry thing. Good for babies maybe even most folks. But too much of anything isn’t good. And there are so many other solid foods that provide similar nutrition as milk.

        Just like water. They used to say you needed about 8 ounces 8 times a day of water. And then changed it to 8 ounces of any fluid (including fruits that are mostly fluid like oranges and watermelons) 8 times a day.

        Eggs used to be good, then bad then good. The trick is knowing what is right for you.

        No blooms yet. But I am hopeful. I have 1 large, 2 medium and 1 small that survived the planting and are growing. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    • I didn’t realize that almond milk is gritty. I guess you can’t milk an almond…only crush it into a sandy pulp. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, but they represent the product as ‘better than milk’ so it should be noted.

    I basically survived on milk and meat when I was a kid. The doctor wasn’t that concerned when my mom asked him about it. He said as long she is doing well and eats meat and milk, she will be okay. He added a multiple vitamin after I was hospitalized with pneumonia one year, but then obviously, I am okay and have learned to even eat some vegetables. I am less picky, err discriminating, now and could even stand to lose some weight according to Wii Fit. 🙂

    Like

  3. I’ve been lactose intolerant and hate the taste of milk. Conversely, I do put a small amount of 1% milk on my cereal and don’t seem to suffer from any side effects. As for the substitute milk products- why bother? If you aren’t going to drink milk anyway, why bother buying expensive substitutes?

    Liked by 1 person

    • That was my mom’s response to milk. She used what she had to on cereal and avoided it otherwise. I think that is the obvious choice and if calcium is needed to stave off osteoporosis, calcium supplements work. ~nan

      Like

  4. janjoy52 says:

    I am sympathetic to those who are afflicted with digressive problems. lol.

    Like

Leave a Reply

