A new What-the-tuck trend?

This pedometer geek has begun to notice what may be a new What-the-tuck (WTT) trend. I haven’t quite decided if it is coincidence or not, but the single tear down the cheek of characters, major and minor (mostly major, but I digress), has started cropping up in novels.

The typical WTT of tucking the hair behind the ear (hence the name), messy ponytails and/or buns, rich alpha males, green-eyed characters, and others still appear routinely in many books. They have not disappeared, but this may be a new one.

The trend of the single tear is one that I have noted in the last couple books I have read. Personally, I don’t admit to crying, but if I do, generally like potato chips, it is hard to stop at just one. How these characters manage to show that strong emotion in such a carefully controlled manner is beyond me. Is it real? Is it faked? Is it manipulative or not? Is it left to dry on the cheek or wiped away in various manners?

Is it a new trend? It may be too soon to tell, but this pedometer geek will be watching to see.

About pedometergeek

A pharmacist by profession, a haiku poet by nature, I read and write. I have a book of haiku, Ohayo Haiku, and another somewhat alternative haiku book, Three Breaths, but write other genres. I also read...lots of novels! My favorite is, and remains, Ayn Rand's Atlas Shrugged but I am also a big Harry Potter fan. I truly am a pedometer geek strapping on my pedometer as soon as I awaken.
This entry was posted in blog, pedometer geek and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A new What-the-tuck trend?

  1. julespaige says:

    Oh, my. I think I shall have to rebel, the rebel that I am.
    Not one to be trendy or follow trends. I haven’t had the time to read much.
    But I shall keep the single tear thing out of my writing.

    I do believe it can happen. But perhaps not with the frequency that might be a WTT .

    I may be delayed at sending you ‘that box’ I mentioned in my email. But I will let you know when I get it out so you can be on the look-out. 😉

    Like

  2. JP, I think it can happen, too, but from every “deep” character? Perhaps you need to write a poem with the single tear. Don’t worry about the box…I didn’t send you the tubers for a gift in return; that was not my motivation. Regardless, thanks for thinking of me, dear friend. ~nan

    Like

  3. sammee44 says:

    Now you have me on the lookout for this WTT trend—and OMG, there it was on TV—a single tear, making its track down a beautifully made-up face, as the camera dramatically pans away, fading to an exit!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have seen it in at least three books that I have recently read. The first couple times I see it, I gloss over it, but once I see it more than once in more than one story, then I start highlighting it (especially in e-books is it fun to note it) and start considering it a possible WTT trend. With your observant eye, you are only confirming what I suspected. Now, sammee44, I’ll be watching for it on TV shows, too. Thanks for pointing it out. 🙂 ~nan

      Like

  4. Ron. says:

    Single tear = cliché = bad writing. Period.

    Like

    • Well, Ron, I didn’t claim that what I had been reading were classics. I’ll remember to leave out that cliche’ out of my writing in the future. Glad to see you back writing. ~nan

      Like

  5. Her leaf green eyes filled, and she quickly ducked her head. He gently lifted her chin, as a single tear rolled silently down her cheek. He tucked a lock of hair that tumbled from her messy ponytail behind her ear and turned to go.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

