Skirting the issue…

This may be a what-the-tuck trend or just the changing style of dress. First it should be stated that this pedometer geek is not a fashion plate. I don’t buy or wear any of the brands of the rich and famous (or even the not-so-rich and not-so-famous for that matter). To be honest, wearing a pedometer all the time is not considered chic, stylish, or even sexy. Having said that, this pedometer geek is noticing another (potential) trend in her reading material.

First, there was a noticeable tendency in many novels to have young (in their twenties and thirties) women wear flirty skirts. When reading, I have always pictured them as lightweight skirts, often colorful, with a wide flounce (ruffle). The skirts could be made of cotton or other gauzy fabric, and they are often paired with a tank top. In a similar vein is the frequent appearance of the flirty little sundress, but I digress. At least, that was what I pictured in my mind; I could be wrong as indicated for the above reason.

Now, the newest skirt trend, which appears in many novels, is the pencil skirt. Every (fashion conscious) young woman seems to own at least one or two pencil skirts. Often in black and paired with a silk blouse (cream for daytime wear and red (or other rich, deep color) for nighttime wear), it is the go-to outfit for these women. I even know what a pencil skirt is; it is cut straighter than an a-line skirt and thus, I imagine, not as easy to walk in. Especially when the skirt is paired with all those Jimmy Choo, Louboutins, and other designer shoe brands with the five-inch stiletto heels.

So, has the trend changed? Are flirty skirts out and pencil skirts in? Has the pencil skirt become another what-the-tuck trend? Should this be added to the growing list of WTT trends like green-eyed characters, messy ponytails (buns), rich alpha males, and of course, hair-tucking? Or am I just so far out of the fashion loop that I am a fashion Luddite? What about it?

My thoughts as I put on my Lands’ End boots and go for a walk on a cold, windy day. After all, steps matter.

About pedometergeek

A pharmacist by profession, a haiku poet by nature, I read and write. I have a book of haiku, Ohayo Haiku, and another somewhat alternative haiku book, Three Breaths, but write other genres. I also read...lots of novels! My favorite is, and remains, Ayn Rand's Atlas Shrugged but I am also a big Harry Potter fan. I truly am a pedometer geek strapping on my pedometer as soon as I awaken.
This entry was posted in blog, pedometer geek, WTT trends and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

