A sentence a day, day 60, and a haiku, too

Day 60, really? Sixty days of sentences? And another thirty days (and sentences) or so to go.

She stared at the computer screen, willing the words to come, but they wouldn’t.

light dusting of snow
following a cat’s prints
on the sidewalk

About pedometergeek

A pharmacist by profession, a haiku poet by nature, I read and write. I have a book of haiku, Ohayo Haiku, and another somewhat alternative haiku book, Three Breaths, but write other genres. I also read...lots of novels! My favorite is, and remains, Ayn Rand's Atlas Shrugged but I am also a big Harry Potter fan. I truly am a pedometer geek strapping on my pedometer as soon as I awaken.
This entry was posted in pedometer geek, poem, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A sentence a day, day 60, and a haiku, too

  1. julespaige says:

    I really like the haiku.
    I had a strange animal, which could have been a cat in my back yard this morning.
    But it was still to dark to see.
    I’m not sure what animal would want to be out in the very cold weather.

    I think I’ll have to look into Jane’s challenge for another time. Looks fun. Only 90 days?
    Might get two or three paragraphs ๐Ÿ™‚ Good start for a story…

    Like

    • Thanks, JP. I figure by the time I am done with Jane’s challenge I may have a few sentences worthy of being in a story. I call it Jane’s challenge because she challenged me (and others) to write one sentence a day for a chosen length of time. Hers was the time between now and when she has her sixtieth birthday (like six months), but I chose the time of my son’s deployment, basically until my son Michael returns home to the States. His deployment ends sometime in early March so I picked the arbitrary day March 15 (my mother’s birthday) as the end date unless he should be home sooner. Of course, I suppose his time could be extended (hopefully not, though). It has not been as easy a challenge as I thought it might be as I am trying not to repeat sentences (one was pretty close to repetition) without really looking back at them. I also try to be somewhat literary, but fail miserably most days although there have been a few that I was a bit proud of (I hate ending in prepositions but no matter how I changed it, it still sounded best with the preposition at the end…alas, Mrs. Peacock would be marking up my paper).
      If you want to see Jane’s blog, it is called Box of Ducks. ~nan

      Like

      • julespaige says:

        I’ll have to have a look see over the weekend.
        Little people take up most of the week ๐Ÿ™‚

        Best to your son. I’ve a nephew just deployed to a not so safe place, and a niece studying diplomacy to be stationed in another country for two years in about six months or less.

        Like

  2. Scary, isn’t it? Knowing our sons, nephews, and nieces are serving in areas that aren’t safe? And the world heating up day by day? My cousin used to serve in that capacity as your niece for his whole career.

    Like

Leave a Reply

