A small stone in honor of the first snow

By January, I may change my mind, but I really love snow. It puts a smile upon my face. In honor of the first real snowfall, which is still coming down, a small stone…

a puddle of golden birch leaves below
branches are bare
except for catkins
and the snow that decorates
them both

Ever notice that it is impossible to really look up and see where the snow is coming from? I have tried countless times, but the flakes seem to get in the way.

About pedometergeek

A pharmacist by profession, a haiku poet by nature, I read and write. I have a book of haiku, Ohayo Haiku, and another somewhat alternative haiku book, Three Breaths, but write other genres. I also read...lots of novels! My favorite is, and remains, Ayn Rand's Atlas Shrugged but I am also a big Harry Potter fan. I truly am a pedometer geek strapping on my pedometer as soon as I awaken.
This entry was posted in poem and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A small stone in honor of the first snow

  1. Jan B says:

    If memory serves, snow comes from Skybears having pillow fights…

    Like

  2. rebbthoughts says:

    Lovely imagery, Nan. Nice to experience your first snow of the year. I remember a short getaway to Ashland, Oregon, and waking to a beautiful snowy morning.

    Like

  3. Thanks, Rebb. Now, it is bitterly cold. Is it spring yet? Love the snow, hate the cold (< than 20 degrees is too cold especially when the wind is from the north AND I am walking). ~nan

    Like

Leave a Reply

