Snail mail smiles…

Because I feel fortunate enough to receive many Advanced Reader Copies or other book giveaways (through either Goodreads, Shelf Awareness, Blogging for Books, or directly from the author), I feel compelled to write a thank you note to the author or the publisher when I receive one.

I know I don’t have to, but that is the way I was reared. I didn’t always follow my mother’s dictates and rules (or more like guidelines), but now I make a point of doing so if there is a return address on the package. I realize that they probably don’t make it into the hands of the person, yet I still do it.

So, imagine my surprise (and pleasure) when I opened my mail today and received a gracious thank you note from Janet Chow (of St. Martins’ Literary and Debut Fiction) for my original note of gratitude.

Snail mail, that is not a bill or junk mail, is always a pleasure to receive, and this note certainly put a smile on my face.

About pedometergeek

A pharmacist by profession, a haiku poet by nature, I read and write. I have a book of haiku, Ohayo Haiku, and another somewhat alternative haiku book, Three Breaths, but write other genres. I also read...lots of novels! My favorite is, and remains, Ayn Rand's Atlas Shrugged but I am also a big Harry Potter fan. I truly am a pedometer geek strapping on my pedometer as soon as I awaken.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Snail mail smiles…

  1. julespaige says:

    Sort of to go along with de-cluttering… I’ve been going through my books and registering them and setting them free. It was a nice surprise to find one of them journaled with the note: I was so happy to see that the BC community still exists in this area.

    Kind of makes me sad though that through out the years I haven’t received that many Thank You’s from Nieces and Nephews. Makes me want to stop sending … The last package was small… and the next maybe smaller still until… my efforts just stop.

    Since my SIL gave me gifts for the grands, I made them draw thank you’s – just traced the little one’s hands. And the older one drew a nice picture. It is never to young to start good manners.

    Like

  2. I know. I think it is a small thing to write thank you notes. It takes ten minutes top, fifteen for me if I walk to the post office to post it right away. Yet, I think people notice when they are sent or NOT sent especially with wedding gifts. I have to admit that my sons are not great about writing them, but at least they say “thank you” via text and over the phone, etc. when they receive something. You are correct: it is never too young to teach good manners. ~nan

    Like

Leave a Reply

