Connections or WTT trend, I can’t decide

Since I am always actively reading two or three (or more) books at a time, I notice similarities between the various reads. The last week or so has been no different.

First off, is this a connection or a new What-the-tuck trend? A novel I recently finished had a character by the name of Jake (Dinner for Two by Drea Stein). He wasn’t the main character, but he was a significant character. One of the novels I am currently reading is Chocolate Wishes by Trisha Ashley and again, Jake is one of the characters. Not the main character, but he’s the brother of the protagonist. Had I not been reading them nearly simultaneously, I might not have noticed. However, I am finding more than my share of Jake/Jacob characters in books, which is why I am torn between just a connection between books and a new trend.

Another name connection, and I suspect this will not become a trend, is the name Fenella. One of the characters in Colleen McCullough’s Sins of the Flesh was named Fenella, or Nell for short. Frankly, I am unfamiliar with the name Fenella, and this is the first time I recall ever seeing/hearing/reading it so imagine my surprise when one of the latest novels I am now reading, The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith, has a character by the name of Fenella. Just another weird connection…

Well, as I am currently reading a few other books (Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell, Only Everything by Kiernan Scott, 7 Grams of Lead by Keith Thomson, and a re-read of Jon Harrison’s The Banks of Certain Rivers), I will be looking for Jake and Fenella just to see if a What-the-tuck trend is forming.

What connections or trends are you seeing?

About pedometergeek

A pharmacist by profession, a haiku poet by nature, I read and write. I have a book of haiku, Ohayo Haiku, and another somewhat alternative haiku book, Three Breaths, but write other genres. I also read...lots of novels! My favorite is, and remains, Ayn Rand's Atlas Shrugged but I am also a big Harry Potter fan. I truly am a pedometer geek strapping on my pedometer as soon as I awaken.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

