The Pedometer Geek and the 5K Color Run

Tomorrow is the Cedar Point’s 5K Color Run. It is just a fun thing to do, and it helps raise money for local charities like the United Way and Girls and Boys Clubs of Erie County. As the runners and walkers go through the course, they are colored with dyes of various colors (hence the name Color Run). I am part of the Lake Loving Ladies team started by Christine Crawford. There are about eight of us on her team, and we are walking, which is perfect for this pedometer geek.

So, I will be up early tomorrow to get there by 7:30 as the walk starts at 8:00am. I am even pre-disastered as I did a major face plant this morning tripping on our city’s uneven sidewalks. Ironically, I had just returned from checking in for the Color Run, and I was thinking about which shoes to wear rather than watching where I was walking, obviously. A few scrapes, a bruise or two, but mostly my dignity was hurt because, unfortunately, the crew putting up new siding on our house (AKA the “project” which is also known as the new old house) caught my ignominious fall.

After completing the 5K, I will heading to Radnor, Ohio to my niece’s wedding. Fortunately she doesn’t care if all the color comes out of my hair. It should be a fun day.

What are your plans for the last weekend of summer?

About pedometergeek

A pharmacist by profession, a haiku poet by nature, I read and write. I have a book of haiku, Ohayo Haiku, and another somewhat alternative haiku book, Three Breaths, but write other genres. I also read...lots of novels! My favorite is, and remains, Ayn Rand's Atlas Shrugged but I am also a big Harry Potter fan. I truly am a pedometer geek strapping on my pedometer as soon as I awaken.
This entry was posted in pedometer geek and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Pedometer Geek and the 5K Color Run

  1. julespaige says:

    Good thing to raise funds for worthy causes.
    Hope you enjoy the wedding. Congratulations to your niece and all the family.

    I told hubby that he would have to kindly tell me the right club to use each and every time. And he did. I even managed by the seventh hole to guess the ‘proper’ club. I would have liked it better if it were a little cooler and less gnats. 🙂 But just being with hubby was a very good thing 🙂

    Like

  2. Being with the hubby is a very good thing. The wedding was nice, but I managed to forget the gift at the house and remembered when I was far enough away that I couldn’t turn around and go back to get it (and still get there on time). So I just returned from the post office. Hope it arrives in one piece as it is an art piece. I really wrapped it well, but the way my luck has been going (the fall, the missing dress I planned on wearing to the wedding, forgetting the gift, and a few other issues in the past several days), I’ll worry about it. On the other hand, I got to see my sisters, my nieces, my younger son and his wife, and all the relevant spouses except for mine…he’s laid up with major back and leg pain issues. Hopefully the doctor will be able to sort it all out, AND soon!

    Like

  3. julespaige says:

    Must be something in the water about husbands and backs. My hubby slept funny. But due to travels has to wait to get it looked at.

    For additional giggles you might enjoy:
    https://juleslongerstrandsofgems.wordpress.com/2014/09/29/q29-an-ode/

    Like

Leave a Reply

