Cinquain, and a small stone

A couple of poems…the cinquain is about our experience in the capitol of New Zealand; the other is a small stone about a young girl I saw at Cedar Point.

Cinquain

Auckland
All traffic stops
People, like ants, scurry
Left, right, diagonally to
cross streets

Small stone

Shorts and a pink t-shirt
worn by young girl
Glittery sequins on shirt
“Rebel Girl”
At age five,
What does she have to rebel against?
Parents saying “No” causing temper tantrums?
Is this empowerment?

A true rebel girl wouldn’t wear a sign.
She’d just be:
Old enough to know why
Old enough to understand, and
Old enough to pick out her own clothes.

subject to shaping and polishing

About pedometergeek

A pharmacist by profession, a haiku poet by nature, I read and write. I have a book of haiku, Ohayo Haiku, and another somewhat alternative haiku book, Three Breaths, but write other genres. I also read...lots of novels! My favorite is, and remains, Ayn Rand's Atlas Shrugged but I am also a big Harry Potter fan. I truly am a pedometer geek strapping on my pedometer as soon as I awaken.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Cinquain, and a small stone

  1. julespaige says:

    Traffic rules in other countries can be confusing.
    When visiting Italy the question was asked; “What side of the road to Italians drive on?” and the answer (yes be fearful…because it is true) is ‘Both.’ Pretty much without regards to ‘rules’.

    As for fashion. Children generally only wear what their parents put them in. I didn’t put any name brands on my boys. Yet our grands dressed by ‘mommy’ sport her favorite as well as theirs – characters and ‘wise cracks’.

    Thanks for your visit my ‘catastrophe’ – I pretty much can go on and on with just a single photo or word. Just fun for me, I guess. šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • A quick question, JP….are all your blog pages connected? Or are they separate blogs under one banner? I’d like to separate out my pages into Writings (poems and short stories), Random blogposts, and Book Reviews, but not sure how to do it. You seem to have it all together and I could use your expertise. ~Nancy

      Like

      • julespaige says:

        My blogs are not connected. Though I think I have links to them on pages on the separate blogs. I’ve seen folks do that kind of banner thing you speak of but I’m not sure if that is a paid feature. I’m still in freebee mode.

        I actually have to make sure that the icon (which is the same for all of them…) matches the link to the blog I want people to go to. If you have more than one blog you can change that at the bottom of your comment it will sometimes ask you that (though sometimes it doesn’t. I can’t figure out why it does or doesn’t) Well that’s the blogs.

        You did ask about pages. If you have a blog that allows pages…and you have an about page so you might… you go to the dashboard to create a page just like you would a post. But a page is different than a post. Take for example this page that has links http://julesinflashyfiction.wordpress.com/sonja-series-sunday-photo-fiction/ and this page that has the whole she bang: http://julesinflashyfiction.wordpress.com/ff-continuing-story-w-a-j-the-vampire-adventure/

        The only way to link your pages would be to have links on them. But I don’t have the expertise you are looking for. You might just want to create separate blogs and then link them via a page connection.

        See if someone you visit has what you want and ask them. Wish I could have been more helpful.

        Like

      • I don’t know. It seems like this may help a bit. I’d like to keep pages straight if possible, and you seem to have done it. I will give a few of your suggestions a try. Thanks!

        Like

      • julespaige says:

        I just sent you an e-mail. I really thing you want three blogs. Have fun playing. That is the only way to learn.
        It took me a long time to be where I’m at. And I’m not even half way there šŸ™‚

        Like

  2. Yes, traffic can be confusing…Enzers drive on the right side of the road and so it is important to pay attention when crossing the street no matter whether in Auckland, Wellington, or Invercargill. Now when we walk we often “Auckland” it in a diagonal manner.

    The fashion thing…yeah, I realize that she didn’t pick it out to wear (or even to buy it), but found it slightly ironic as except for temper tantrums being thrown after a parent saying “No” girls hardly rebellious… ~nan

    Like

  3. garytribble says:

    Loved “Aukland”, nan.

    Like

Leave a Reply

