Sevenling (cedar waxwings…)

This is my first attempt at a sevenling, a poetry form introduced to my by Ron L. It is subject to revision.

Cedar waxwings nosh in the service berry tree
Jays of blue swoop down for peanuts
Canna lilies’ nectar, the hummer’s treat

Leaf lettuce for salads,
Cucumbers and tomatoes, too
The deepening purple of concord grapes.

The cat changes her focus to rabbits.

8/5/2014 nbs

Thanks to JulesPaige for reminding me of the correct spelling of nosh and for the people who helped with the last line.

About pedometergeek

A pharmacist by profession, a haiku poet by nature, I read and write. I have a book of haiku, Ohayo Haiku, and another somewhat alternative haiku book, Three Breaths, but write other genres. I also read...lots of novels! My favorite is, and remains, Ayn Rand's Atlas Shrugged but I am also a big Harry Potter fan. I truly am a pedometer geek strapping on my pedometer as soon as I awaken.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sevenling (cedar waxwings…)

  1. Can you explain the term? I’m trying to guess the pattern and my tired brain refuses to cooperate!
    Love the imagery.

    Like

    • Ron gives a good explanation link on another of my posts. In a nutshell, a sevenling is a 7-line poem made up for three lines describing three somewhat connected things in any order followed by another set of three lines (three things connected or not), then a “kicker” line that somehow connects the two disparate stanzas usually in some weird way. Then the title is Sevenling (with the part of the first line) Wikipedia also explains it with a good representation of a sevenling. It was a first attempt for me, and according to some people who have read it, the last line is inexplicable to the rest of it. I don’t know what I am doing, Annette. ~nan

      Like

Leave a Reply

