Sevenling (cedar waxwings…)

This is my first attempt at a sevenling, a poetry form introduced to me by Ron L. It is subject to revision.

Cedar waxwings nosh in the service berry tree

Jays of blue swoop down for peanuts

Canna lilies’ nectar, the hummer’s treat

Leaf lettuce for salads,

Cucumbers and tomatoes, too

The deepening purple of concord grapes.

The cat changes her focus to rabbits.

8/5/2014 nbs

Thanks to JulesPaige for helping me correct the spelling of nosh (guess I only ever heard it, not seen it spelled) and to the people who helped improve the last line.

About pedometergeek

A pharmacist by profession, a haiku poet by nature, I read and write. I have a book of haiku, Ohayo Haiku, and another somewhat alternative haiku book, Three Breaths, but write other genres. I also read...lots of novels! My favorite is, and remains, Ayn Rand's Atlas Shrugged but I am also a big Harry Potter fan. I truly am a pedometer geek strapping on my pedometer as soon as I awaken.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sevenling (cedar waxwings…)

  1. Ron. says:

    Very nice, Pedo. I liked it all 3 times.
    Is the last line a typo? I can’t make it out.

    Cat’s changed her focus? or Cat changes her focus? Hmmmm…

    Like

    • Thanks, Ron…I still don’t quite understand the form. It should be ‘cat changes her focus’…or ‘cat has changed her focus’. When I tried to post it, it said it didn’t take so I did it again (and obviously a third time, too). Now to follow Jules Paige’s instructions to delete the other two. Ironically, the review never showed up although I typed it in twice. Finally, put it over on Wattpad. ~nan

      Like

  2. julespaige says:

    You can edit out the repeated posts in your WP – you just have to go to your dashboard and post list…. go to where you would start a new post, it has the option to go to ‘all posts.’
    Then you can see the repeats and cancel or ‘Trash’ them – the copies you don’t want.

    Is it Calla Lilies and perhaps just nosh without the g?
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zantedeschia_aethiopica
    http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/nosh+?s=t

    I know that sometimes when I am sleepy and just want to write.. I let spelling go.
    Hope you don’t mind the corrections.

    I like how the last lines tie the first two verses together.

    Like

    • Jules,
      Thanks for the info. The posting glitched up so I have a couple of the same and none of the other. I didn’t know how to spell nosh…thanks for the correction, but it is canna lilies for sure, not calla lilies. Cannas are technically not lilies at all, but that is what they are called.

      Like

  3. I can send you some seeds and directions how to grow them or some tubers after we dig them up this fall. Or both…seeds now, tubers later. Let me know. ~nan

    Like

  4. Ours are in full sun, but they don’t have to be. It is just where we planted them. On the other hand, we planted some tubers in the hosta section (which prefer part shade) and they are blooming as well. I will send you both. The seeds for growing them inside this winter and tubers to plant next spring. The neat thing about them is that they attract hummingbirds. We have one who returns every year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

