Cinquains…trying a new poetry form

As a recent poetry workshop held at the Huron Public Library, some poetry forms were discussed by Huron, Ohio’s new poet laureate, Joel Rudinger.  One of these was the cinquain, which is a five-line poem with syllabic lines of 2-4-6-8-2.  I decided to give it a whirl.

neighbor

softly strumming

sitting on the front porch

lyrical counterpoint to

church bells

fungus

hides in the grass

works on rotting tree roots

slowly decays, bringing about

new life

Obviously not haiku or elfje, but something to work on.

About pedometergeek

A pharmacist by profession, a haiku poet by nature, I read and write. I have a book of haiku, Ohayo Haiku, and another somewhat alternative haiku book, Three Breaths, but write other genres. I also read...lots of novels! My favorite is, and remains, Ayn Rand's Atlas Shrugged but I am also a big Harry Potter fan. I truly am a pedometer geek strapping on my pedometer as soon as I awaken.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Cinquains…trying a new poetry form

  1. Ron. says:

    Very cool, both of them. I haven’t written a cinq in a while; I’ll have to give it a spin. Do you know about the sevenlings form? You might like it. Here’s a link to info about it: http://home.comcast.net/~jpdancingbear/apj_sevenling.html

    And here’s one I wrote:

    Sevenling (if we’re lucky)

    if we’re lucky we open
    our eyes, see what can be
    seen, know what’s to be known

    everything appears and reappears
    and disappears and reappears
    and reappears again, at last

    all you need is love

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Ron,
      First off, lovely poem (Sevenling). I am not familiar with the form, but then I wasn’t familiar with cinq, either. I will look it up directly, and love discovering new short poetry forms. They seem to go together with haiku, elfje, tanka, small stones, and cinquains. Short, but sweet (or not-so-sweet) depending… nan

      Like

    • julespaige says:

      Thanks Ron – I’ve copied the info after visiting the site link.
      I just tried a Sevenling…. I’m going to attempt to visit your about page and leave the link there once I post it.

      Like

  2. rebbthoughts says:

    Both of those have a nice flow to them, Nan. Lovely snapshots. And I learned about a new form!

    Like

  3. I have never heard of cinquains, but liked what you came up with. The first one evokes pretty sounds and the second brings with it hope.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks for your kind remarks. I had never really heard of them before this poetry event, but wanted to give them a try. They rather reminded me of a cross between a haiku and an elfje. My husband wrote a villanelle, another poetry form introduced at this event. It was a bit too much, too complicated for me I liked Ron’s form (the sevelings) and think I will try to see if I work up something as they seem intriguing, too. I shall see. ~nan

    Like

  5. julespaige says:

    Ah, yes I know this one 🙂
    And you might enjoy other forms found here:
    https://julesgemstonepages.wordpress.com/poetry-forms-old-and-new/
    hmmm….some I’ve made up *blush*

    Take care, Jules (aka davh)

    Like

    • Jules,
      You always introduce me to new forms…like the elfje. I just learned about sevenling. Haven’t written one yet, but am mentally getting one together. Nan

      Like

      • julespaige says:

        I saw that about the sevenling and copied the info. 🙂

        I’ve met some really wonderful prompters, poets and writers and the sharing is just amazing as well as fun.

        Hugs, ~Jules

        Like

  6. Writers write…and try new things. I can’t wait to see what you produce. Hugs, nan

    Like

  7. Pingback: C’est la vie : in a ‘sevenling’ | julesgemstonepages

  8. garytribble says:

    Interesting and fun, to find another haiku-like form of constraint, and discover the delight if reading samples that work effectively in both cognitive and affective zones. Thank you, nan.

    Like

    • Gary,
      I think that is why I am branching out into cinquains. Like haiku, there are constraints, but a poem doesn’t always need lots of words to be poetic. Isn’t that why we write? To express ourselves more fully? I hope you take the opportunity to explore this form. Another fun short form is the elfje. Check out the blog simplyelfje.com, a WordPress blog to read more about it and see some great examples. ~nan

      Like

Leave a Reply

